Sunday Basics

Every Sunday, during my morning coffee (or matcha), I’ll share three incredible, mesmerizing, and powerful ideas changing the world and culture. Some ideas will be ads or about advertising. Some may be about fashion. Others will be about design, art, illustrations, animations, motion, audio, movies, or any other idea worth sharing and discussing. You get the idea.

TL;DR
a. I will share 3 big ideas
b. Cause I care about ideas
c. And you will too, subscribe

Idea 1. Core Elements

To start from scratch, 15 could sound like a lot of things brands need, but in reality, brands do not always have all 15 elements before they launch. My old boss used to say–let’s build the plane as we fly it. I agree. But this is definitely helpful to start getting or giving the direction you need to have a brand that resonates, thrives, and lasts.

*Not sure who owns this chart, but thanks.

Idea 2. Creative Strategy Frameworks by Pollard

Master strategist Mark Pollard shares a few of the best and most useful strategy and creativity frameworks agencies use to find amazing ideas and fresh ways to reach an audience authentically with work that gets results. I compiled some of my favorites here. Use accordingly and make sure you challenge and question everything. Without the exact dose of curiosity none of these work.

Idea 3. Brand Identity Casestudy – Freeform

This is one of the best rationales, pitches, and explanations I’ve ever seen on the Internet.
Brian Collins, yes, the designer behind Collins himself, explains the what, the how, and the why of the rebranding for Freeform (the media channel). Read it as many times as possible.